Which teams have qualified for AFCON 2024? Full list of countries at Africa Cup of Nations 2023


The 2023 Africa Cup of Nations kicks off in Ivory Coast on January 13, 2024 as Sadio Mane’s Senegal look to defend their title from two years ago.

The latest AFCON is officially the 2023 edition, even though it is being held this year. The final was originally scheduled for the Northern Hemisphere summer, but was postponed to this month to avoid the rainy season in that part of Africa.

Senegal are among 15 teams to have won the tournament since its inception in 1957, but Ghana, Cameroon and Egypt are the only sides to have retained their title in AFCON history.

A total of 24 countries will compete in this year’s final, the competitors are divided into six groups of four. Half of them have been African champions at least once in the past; only five never progressed beyond the group stage.

Which teams have qualified for AFCON 2024?

Most of the teams expected to qualify for this year’s Africa Cup of Nations have secured their place in the tournament with 16 of Africa’s highest-ranked FIFA nations having qualified for the competition.

Gabon is the most notable absence (FIFA 86), with Tanzania (122) the lowest-placed team to have made it through, but none of the six qualifiers have made it past the group stages.

No qualifying side has won all of their group stage matches, with the only teams not to have lost a qualifying match being Ghana, Algeria and Senegal.

Teams at Africa Cup of Nations 2023

Nation Best performance at AFCON
Algeria Champions (1990, 2019)
Angola Quarterfinals (2008, 2010)
Burkina Faso Runners up (2013)
Cameroon Champions (1984, 1988, 2000, 2002, 2017)
Cape Verde Quarterfinals (2013)
DR Congo Champions (1968, 1974)
Egypt Champions (1957, 1959, 1986, 1998, 2006, 2008, 2010)
Equatorial Guinea Semifinals (2015)
Gambia Quarterfinals (2021)
Ghana Champions (1963, 1965, 1978, 1982)
Guinea Runners up (1976)
Guinea-Bissau Group Stage (2017, 2019, 2021)
Ivory Coast Champions (1992, 2015)
Mali Runners up (1972)
Mauritania Group Stage (2019, 2021)
Morocco Champions (1976)
Mozambique Group Stage (1986, 1996, 1998, 2010)
Namibia Group Stage (1998, 2008, 2019)
Nigeria  Champions (1980, 1994, 2013)
Senegal Champions (2021)
South Africa Champions (1996)
Tanzania Group Stage (1980, 2019)
Tunisia Champions (2004)
Zambia Champions (2012)

How does qualifying for AFCON?

Qualification for the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations was divided into two sections, with the preliminary round, featuring the lowest-12-ranked African (CAF) nations, followed by the group stages.

Those 12 teams were paired into two-legged playoff matches with the six winners making up the final list of 48 nations competing in the group stages.

Final qualification for the tournament was based on a standard group format (Groups A to L), with the top two teams qualifying for AFCON 2023, and the remaining two sides per group eliminated.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *