Nigeria AFCON 2023 squad: Final 25-man squad for Nigeria national team Roster in Ivory Coast

Afcon 2021

Victor Osimhen will spearhead Nigeria’s bid for a fourth AFCON title.

Osimhen was in prolific form when he fired Napoli to historic Serie A success last season and Super Eagles fans will be in for a 25-year-old whose fan base across Europe’s elite clubs will only grow if he impresses in Ivory Coast.

Well-traveled Portuguese coach Jose Peseiro has an impressive array of attacking talent to call upon alongside Osimhene, from in-form Bayer Leverkusen youngster Victor Boniface to AC Milan winger Samuel Chukwueze.

Nigeria last won the AFCON in 2013. That feat included record appearance holder Ahmed Musa and the capped centurion will feature in his country’s latest bid for glory.

Nigeria AFCON 2023 squad

Peseiro was forced into a late substitution after Leicester City midfielder Wilfried Ndidi withdrew through injury.

Uncapped Antwerp midfielder Alhassan Yusuf was drafted in as a replacement, while Ndidi’s Leicester team-mate Kelechi Iheanacho headed into the tournament in a bid to recover from a muscle problem.

Bayer Leverkusen’s Victor Boniface emerged from Nigeria’s pre-tournament camp in Dubai with a similar complaint.

If anything, it puts even more pressure on Napoli superstar Victor Osimhene, who has 20 goals in 28 games but missed Nigeria’s November internationals with a hamstring problem.

If anything, that places even more emphasis on Napoli superstar Victor Osimhen, who has 20 goals in 28 caps but missed Nigeria’s November internationals with a hamstring problem.

Position No. Player Club
GK Francis Uzoho Omonia (CYP)
GK Stanley Nwabili Chippa United (RSA)
GK Olorunleke Ojo Enyimba (NGR)
DEF William Troost Ekong PAOK (GRE)
DEF Kenneth Omeruo Kasimpasa (TUR)
DEF Chidozie Awaziem Boavista (POR)
DEF Ola Aina Nottingham Forest (ENG)
DEF Semi Ajayi West Brom (ENG)
DEF Zaidu Sanusi Porto (POR)
DEF Calvin Bassey Fulham (ENG)
DEF Bright Osayi-Samuel Fenerbahce (TUR)
DEF Bruno Onyemaechi Boavista (POR)
MID Alex Iwobi Fulham (ENG)
MID Joe Aribo Southampton (ENG)
MID Frank Onyeka Brentford (ENG)
MID Raphael Onyedika Club Brugge (BEL)
MID Alhassan Yusuf Antwerp (BEL)
FWD Ahmed Musa Sivasspor (TUR)
FWD Moses Simon  Nantes (FRA)
FWD Kelechi Iheanacho Leicester City (ENG)
FWD Samuel Chukwueze AC Milan (ITA)
FWD Victor Osimhen Napoli (ITA)
FWD Ademola Lookman Atalanta (ITA)
FWD Umar Sadiq Real Sociedad (SPA)
FWD Victor Boniface Bayer Leverkusen (GER)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *