Morocco AFCON 2023 squad: Final 27-man squad for Morocco national team Roster in Ivory Coast


The Morocco AFCON 2023 squad has been announced ahead of the tournament.

In December 2022, Morocco became the first African country to reach the World Cup in the last four. It was a significant achievement for a team that was predicted to go out at the group stage.

Their preparations for the tournament were marred by a managerial change in August, with Walid Regragui coming in amid concerns about the way his predecessor had alienated some of the team’s best players.

It proved to be a masterstroke as team spirit, defensive solidity and quality in key areas took Morocco much further than anyone expected. Until their eventual defeat by France, they conceded just one goal in five games.

The Atlas Lions continued their impressive form in 2023, which began with a 2-1 win over Brazil. They lost once last year and are currently the 13th best national team in the world according to FIFA. After doing well as underdogs, they now face heightened expectations as favorites to win the AFCON. Morocco were last named African champions 48 years ago and have only reached one final since then.

As they target success, key members of the World Cup squad such as Yassine Bounou, Achraf Hakimi, Romain Saiss, Sofyan Amrabat and Hakim Ziyech will once again be heavily relied upon.

Morocco AFCON 2023 squad: The final 27-man team

  • GK: Yassine Bounou (Al-Hilal)
  • GK: Munir El Kajoui (Al-Wehda)
  • GK: El Mehdi Benabid (AS FAR)
  • DF: Achraf Hakimi (Paris Saint-Germain)
  • DF: Mohamed Chibi (Pyramids)
  • DF: Abdelkabir Abqar (Deportivo Alaves)
  • DF: Nayef Aguerd (West Ham United)
  • DF: Romain Saïss (Al-Shabab)
  • DF: Yunis Abdelhamid (Stade de Reims)
  • DF: Chadi Riad (Real Betis)
  • DF: Noussair Mazraoui (Bayern Munich)
  • DF: Yahya Attiat Allah (Wydad)
  • MF: Selim Amallah (Valencia)
  • MF: Amir Richardson (Stade de Reims)
  • MF: Oussama El Azzouzi (Bologna FC)
  • MF: Sofyan Amrabat (Manchester United)
  • MF: Azzedine Ounahi (Marseille)
  • MF: Bilal El Khannouss (Genk)
  • FW: Hakim Ziyech (Galatasaray)
  • FW: Ismail Saibari (PSV Eindhoven)
  • FW: Amine Adli (Bayer Leverkusen)
  • FW: Ayoub El Kaabi (Olympiacos)
  • FW: Youssef En-Nesyri (Sevilla)
  • FW: Tarik Tissoudali (Gent)
  • FW: Amine Harit (Marseille)
  • FW: Abde Ezzalzouli (Real Betis)
  • FW: Sofiane Boufal (Al-Rayyan)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *