When is the UEFA Europa League Round of 16 draw? Date, venue, format, teams qualified

UEFA Europa League draw

The UEFA Europa League comes to an end after a long qualification process and group stage.

We have now reached the point in the competition where teams that finish third in their UEFA Champions League groups are relegated to the UEFA Europa League play-offs, potentially increasing the quality for the knockout rounds.

With Liverpool, Roma, Bayer Leverkusen, Brighton & Hove Albion and West Ham all qualifying from the group stage, the competition has really heated up.

When is the Europa League Round of 16 draw?

With 32 teams competing in the Europa League knockout stages and only the group winners getting an automatic passage to the Round of 16, that leaves eight places up for grabs.

Those eight places will be contested in the knockout-round playoffs, so that means the actual Round of 16 draw does not take place until Friday, February 23, 2024. The draw will be done at UEFA’s headquarters in Nyon, Switzerland at 12 noon CET.

Here’s how that draw time translates into some of the world’s major territories:

Date Kickoff time
USA Fri, Feb. 23 6 a.m. ET
Canada Fri, Feb. 23 6 a.m. ET
UK Fri, Feb. 23 11 a.m. GMT
Australia Fri, Feb. 23 10 p.m. AEST
India Fri, Feb. 23 4:30 p.m. IST
Hong Kong Fri, Feb. 23 7 p.m. HKT
Malaysia Fri, Feb. 23 7 p.m. MYT
Singapore Fri, Feb. 23 7 p.m. SGT
New Zealand Sat, Feb. 24 12 a.m. NZST

Europa League knockout round playoff draw details

The Europa League playoffs involve eight seeded teams (the eight group runners-up) taking on eight unseeded teams (the third-place group finishers from the Champions League). It works as a Round of 32, of sorts.

The draw for the Europa League knockout-round playoff takes place on Monday, December 18, also at the House of European Football in Nyon, Switzerland, starting at 1 p.m. CET.

UEFA says it will release seedings and details about the procedure on their website on the morning of the draw.

Qualified teams for the Europa League Round of 16

The following teams have booked their places in the Round of 16 by confirming their place atop their group:

Team Date progressed Group
West Ham Dec. 14 Group A
Brighton Dec. 14 Group B
Rangers Dec. 14 Group C
Atalanta Nov. 9 Group D
Liverpool Nov. 30 Group E
Villarreal Dec. 14 Group F
Slavia Prague Dec. 14 Group G
Bayer Leverkusen Nov. 30 Group H

Teams qualified for the Europa League knockout round playoff

The following teams have confirmed a second-place finish in the group stage, meaning they will advance to the knockout-round playoffs. They will now face a team dropping down from the Champions League for the right to be part of the draw for the Round of 16.

Team Date progressed Group
Freiburg Dec. 14 Group A
Marseille Dec. 14 Group B
Sparta Prague Dec. 14 Group C
Sporting CP Nov. 30 Group D
Toulouse Dec. 14 Group E
Rennes Dec. 14 Group F
Roma Dec. 14 Group G
Qarabag Dec. 14 Group H

Meanwhile, the following teams will drop from the Champions League, set to contest the knockout-round playoffs against a second-place finisher from the Europa League:

Team Date confirmed UCL Group
Galatasaray Dec. 14 Group A
Lens Dec. 14 Group B
Braga Dec. 14 Group C
Benfica Dec. 14 Group D
Feyenoord Nov. 28 Group E
AC Milan Dec. 14 Group F
BSC Young Boys Nov. 28 Group G
Shakhtar Donetsk Dec. 14 Group H

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *