2023 Yachine Trophy nominees list revealed


The 10 nominees for the 2023 Yachine Trophy, which honors the best goalkeeper of the year at the annual Ballon d’Or ceremony, have been revealed.

Named after legendary former Soviet Union goalkeeper Lev Yashim, the award was created in 2019 for the newly expanded Ballon d’Or and has been won by Alisson, Gianluigi Donnarumma and Thibaut Courtois in the past. The latter, this year’s Champions League winner with Real Madrid and current holder of the Yachine after the triumph in 2022, is again among the nominees.

He is complemented by a collection of elite goalkeepers who have excelled at club and international level over the past 12 months. This includes Yassine Bounou, who helped Morocco become the first African team to reach the semi-finals of the World Cup and win the Europa League with Sevilla.

Ederson and Andre Onana, who kept goal opposite each other in the 2023 Champions League final and now stand on opposite sides of the football divide in Manchester, are also nominated. Aaron Ramsdale is recognized for his form at Arsenal, Aston Villa’s Emiliano Martinez played an absolutely vital role in Argentina’s World Cup victory in December.

Yachine Tophy 2023 nominees

  • Yassine Bounou – Sevilla/Al Hilal
  • Ederson – Manchester City
  • Mike Maignan – AC Milan
  • Andre Onana – Inter/Manchester United
  • Brice Samba – Lens
  • Thibaut Courtois – Real Madrid
  • Dominik Livakovic – Dinamo Zagreb/Fernbahce
  • Emiliano Martinez – Aston Villa
  • Aaron Ramsdale – Arsenal
  • Marc-Andre Ter Stegen – Barcelona

When is the Yachine Trophy 2023 winner announced?

The Yachine Trophy will be awarded to the best young player in Europe on 30 October at an award ceremony at Theatre du Chatelet in Paris, France.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *