When is the start FIFA U20 World Cup 2023 in Argentina?

Argentina u20 WC

The men’s Under-20 FIFA World Cup pits the best young football players against each other in a tournament to crown a global champion.

Superstars like Erling Haaland, Paul Pogba, Lionel Messi and many other elite stars at one time tried to win the title in this tournament.

England, France, Brazil, Italy and many other top nations will compete, as well as the United States and host Argentina.

Sporting News brings you all the information on the Under-20 World Cup, including the host country, why it was moved and when it will be held.

When 2023 U20 World Cup starts?

The men’s 2023 Under-20 FIFA World Cup will be held in Argentina and will be staged from Saturday, May 20 through the final on Sunday, June 11.

Argentina becomes the second nation to host the men’s U-20 World Cup twice, having previously hosted in 2001. The only other country to host twice is Australia, who did so in 1981 and 1993.

Round Dates
Group Stage May 20 – May 28
Round of 16 May 30 – June 1
Quarterfinals June 3 – June 4
Semifinals June 8
3rd Place June 11
Finals June 11


Why 2023 U20 World Cup moved from Indonesia to Argentina

Indonesia were originally named as hosts for the 2021 tournament in October 2019 after beating out fellow bids from Brazil, Peru, Thailand/Myanmar and Bahrain/Saudi Arabia/UAE.

Following the cancellation of the 2021 U-20 World Cup due to scheduling issues impacted by the COVID-19 pandemic, Indonesia automatically became hosts for the 2023 edition.

A new host, however, became needed on March 29, 2023 after FIFA stripped the Asian nation of hosting rights.  FIFA’s decision to change hosts was the result of Indonesia refusing to host Israel’s national team.

Indonesia doesn’t have formal diplomatic ties with Israel due to its support of Palestine, and Indonesians recently protested in the country demanding Israel not be allowed to compete in the U-20 World Cup. The unsafe situation resulted in Indonesia being withdrawn from consideration for hosting duties.

With the draw being delayed in late March due to Indonesia’s stance, FIFA were left with no other choice but to make a change.  “FIFA has decided, due to the current circumstances, to remove Indonesia as the host of the FIFA U20 World Cup 2023,” a FIFA statement said.

Argentina quickly emerged as the frontrunner to be named the new host nation, and official confirmation came just a month later. The Albiceleste are actually the most successful nation in U-20 World Cup history having won the title six times, but notably failed to qualify for the 2023 tournament, and as hosts will now be able to compete.

Who qualified for 2023 U20 World Cup?

As has become custom, the 2023 Under-20 World Cup will consist of 24 nations with only the host automatically qualifying.

After Indonesia were stripped of hosting duties, that berth was transferred to the new 2023 hosts Argentina.

Country Region (Confederation)
Iraq Asia (AFC)
Japan Asia (AFC)
South Korea Asia (AFC)
Uzbekistan Asia (AFC)
Gambia Africa (CAF)
Nigeria Africa (CAF)
Senegal Africa (CAF)
Tunisia Africa (CAF)
Dominican Republic N. America (CONCACAF)
Guatemala N. America (CONCACAF)
Honduras N. America (CONCACAF)
Brazil S. America (CONMEBOL)
Colombia S. America (CONMEBOL)
Ecuador S. America (CONMEBOL)
Uruguay S. America (CONMEBOL)
Fiji Oceania (OFC)
New Zealand Oceania (OFC)
England Europe (UEFA)
France Europe (UEFA)
Israel Europe (UEFA)
Italy Europe (UEFA)
Slovakia Europe (UEFA)
Argentina Host

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *