Most English Premier League assists record in a single season: Who has assisted the most goals in EPL history?


Manchester City’s bid for a potential treble at the end of the 2022/23 season has focused heavily on Erling Haaland’s goals.

Haaland has enjoyed a sensational start to life in the Premier League, but Belgium star Kevin De Bruyne has continued in his role as chief assistant to Pep Guardiola’s defending champions.

De Bruyne has finished as the Premier League’s top assist producer in three of the last six Premier League seasons and is on course to make it four by the end of the 2022/23 season.

City have scored an incredible 82 goals in the Premier League after 31 games, with De Bruyne assisting just under 20% of their league tally.

The record for most Premier League assists in a single season is jointly held by Thierry Henry and De Bruyne, who both managed 20 in one campaign.

Henry collected his superb assist tally at Arsenal in 2002/03, while De Bruyne has 20 assists for City in 2019/20.

De Bruyne’s 20 in 2019/20 is his best return in a single season at City, after notching 18 assists in 2016/17 and 16 in 2017/18.

Can De Bruyne break Premier League season assist record in 2022/23?

De Bruyne’s incredible consistency has developed the Belgian into the top creative midfielder in the Premier League during his time at City, and 2022/23 could set a new benchmark.

With seven Premier League games to go, De Bruyne’s current tally of 16 assists has plenty of space to increase during the run-in, as City look to defend their Premier League title.

Four more assists would see the 31-year-old repeat his joint record of 20, but the chance of five assists from seven games is within his capabilities, and it would seal a superb campaign to set a new record.

Most Premier League assists in a single season

Season Player Assists
2002-03 Thierry Henry 20
2019-20 Kevin De Bruyne 20
2015-16 Mesut Ozil 19
2004-05 Frank Lampard 18
2014-15 Cesc Fabregas 18
2016-17 Kevin De Bruyne 18
2007-08 Cesc Fabregas 17
2022-23 Kevin De Bruyne 16
1992-93 Eric Cantona 16
2017-18 Kevin De Bruyne 16
1994-95 Matthew Le Tissier 15
1995-96 Steve McManaman 15
1999-00 David Beckham 15
1999-00 Nolberto Solano 15
2001-02 Robert Pires 15
2011-12 David Silva 15
2016-17 Christian Eriksen 15
2017-18 Leroy Sane 15
2018-19 Eden Hazard 15

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *