When is UEFA Champions League quarter finals draw 2023? Fixtures, schedule, teams qualified for quarter finals

UCL

The contenders for the prestigious 2022/23 UEFA Champions League title are down to just eight teams as the Round of 16 came to a close.

Many of Europe’s big hitters are still alive in the competition, including defending champions England, Spain, Italy and Germany. Meanwhile, Italian teams will make three of the eight quarter-finalists for the first time since 2006.

Manchester City, Bayern Munich and Real Madrid remain the main contenders for the famous trophy. However, they could play against each other in the quarterfinals.

When is Champions League quarter final draw 2023?

The draw for the quarter finals, semifinals and final of the UEFA Champions League for 2022/23 will take place on FridayMarch 17 at 12 p.m. CET in Nyon, Switzerland. Here’s how that time translates to other time zones around the world:

Location Date Time
UK March 17 11:00 GMT
Australia March 17 22:00 AEDT
Canada March 17 07:00 EDT
New Zealand March 18 00:00 NZDT
USA March 17 07:00 EDT
India March 17 16:30 IST
Singapore March 17 19:00 SGT
Malaysia March 17 19:00 MYT
Hong Kong March 17 19:00 HKT

The nature of the draw on March 17 means that we will know each team’s path to the final in Istanbul, as the semifinals are also drawn at the same time.

And it’s an open draw — unlike the one that was done for the Round of 16 —meaning there’s no seeding of teams or other restrictions. Teams can also be drawn against rivals from the same country in the quarter finals and semis.

Teams in Champions League quarter finals

We have six of the eight quarterfinalists with the two final teams to be determined on March 15.

Club Country Champions League
Quarter Finals
Champions League
titles (last)
England Chelsea 11 2 (2021)
England Man City 7
Germany Bayern Munich 21 3* (2020)
Italy AC Milan 10 3* (2007)
Italy Inter Milan 7 1* (2010)
Italy Napoli 1
Portugal Benfica 4 —*
Spain Real Madrid 19 8* (2022)

* = Real Madrid won six European Cup titles (1955-60, 1966), Benfica won two (1961 & 1962), Bayern three (1974-76), Inter Milan two (1964-65), and AC Milan four (1963, 1969, 1989, 1990).

Champions League quarter final fixtures 2023

The first legs of the quarter finals will be played on April 11-12 with the second legs a week later on April 18-19, meaning a very quick turnaround between the home and away matches for the teams. There will be two quarter finals played on each day.

The semifinal first legs will take place on May 9-10, with the return legs set for May 16-17, before the showpiece final on June 10.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *