De La Fuente drops 15 World Cup Players in first Spain squad for Euro 2024 qualifying


Luis de la Fuente has dropped 15 players from Spain’s World Cup campaign in his first-ever squad.

De La Fuente replaced Luis Enrique at the helm of their national side after the last 16 exit to Morocco in Qatar last December and wasted little time in ringing in the changes.

Barcelona’s Ferran Torres, Jordi Alba, Eric Garcia and Ansu Fati are among the notable casualties the 61-year-old has picked for the Euro 2024 qualifying doubleheader with Scotland and Norway, while Real Madrid’s Marco Asensio is also absent.

Squad in full:

Goalkeepers: Kepa, Robert Sanchez, David Raya

Defenders: Gayá, Balde., Laporte, Íñigo Martínez, Nacho, David García, Pedro Porro, Carvajal

Midfielders: Rodri, Zubimendi, Gavi, Fabián, Merino, Ceballos and Pedri

Forwards: Morata, Olmo, Nico Williams, Bryan Gil, Oyarzabal, Aspas, Joselu and Gerard Moreno.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *