FIFA confirm final 3 Man shortlist for The Best Men’s Coach award


Last year’s winner was Thomas Tuchel, who ended Jurgen Klopp’s two-year reign with the trophy by finishing on top of a podium which also included Italy’s Roberto Mancini in second and Guardiola in third.

Guardiola rose once again to win the award, with the Manchester City boss competing against Real Madrid’s Ancelotti and Argentina’s Scaloni.

France’s Didier Deschamps and Morocco’s Walid Regragui are both in the top five, but an international panel of men’s national team coaches, men’s national team captains, football journalists and fans decide on the final three.

The award, which recognizes the coach’s performance between August 8, 2021 and December 18, 2022, will be announced at a ceremony on February 27 in Paris.

No Ancelotti, Guardiola or Scaloni have won the award before. Indeed, Guardiola is the only one of the bottom three, third last year and second in 2019.

City bosses will be hoping to go one better this time around as they climb to Premier League glory, but will have to fend off competition from the other two major trophy winners.

Ancelotti’s Real won La Liga and the Champions League, while Scaloni’s international success saw Argentina win the World Cup in Qatar.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *