Qatar 2022: World Cup final referee admits he made mistake during Argentina vs France

0
lionel_messi_argentina_qatar_2022_final
Lionel Messi lifting the FIFA World Cup title and the third star already on his jersey (Clive Brunskill/Getty Images)

2022 World Cup final referee Szymon Marciniak has revealed the incident he believes he got wrong during Argentina’s triumph over France.

In a tightly contested match, La Albiceleste eventually prevailed on penalties, although not before Kylian Mbappe pulled Les Bleus back into the match with a hat-trick.

The World Cup had a number of questionable moments from the referees, but Marcinak’s performance drew much praise. He awarded three penalties, cautioned Marcus Thuram for diving and spent little time consulting VAR.

But he has now revealed one mistake he believes he made during the final at the Lusail Iconic Stadium.

“Of course there were mistakes in this final,” he told Sport.PL. “I interrupted the French counter-attack after a bad tackle by Marcos Acuna.

“I was worried that the fouled player wanted to get loose and I misread it because nothing happened and you could give the advantage and then come back with the card.

“It’s tough. I take a mistake like that in the dark in a game like this. The important thing is that there were no big mistakes.”

French newspaper L’Equipe claimed that Lionel Messi’s goal should not have been scored because some Argentine substitutes interfered on the pitch, although French substitutes committed the same offense on one of Mbappe’s tackles.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here