When is the Ballon d’Or and who is on the 2022 shortlists?

ballon d'or

The 2022 Ballon d’Or ceremony returns and for the first time since 2005, Lionel Messi has not made the shortlist for the men’s prize.

Last year’s winner was Messi, Barcelona’s Alexia Putellas claimed the women’s Ballon d’Or for the third year, but there will be a new name on the trophy when it is presented at the ceremony in Paris.

Things are a little different this year, as for the first time in Ballon d’Or history, winners will be judged on their performances in the previous season, rather than the calendar year.

That’s why this year the ceremony is at the beginning and before the Men’s World Cup in Qatar.

Here’s everything you need to know.

When is the Ballon d’Or?

The Ballon d’Or 2022 ceremony will take place on Monday 17 October. The time of the event will be confirmed closer to day, but it will be held at the Theatre du Chatelet in Paris, France.

How can I watch it?

The ceremony will be broadcast on Eurosport and the Eurosport Player in the UK, but it is also available to be streamed on L’Equipe’s YouTube channel.

Who is nominated for the men’s award?

  • Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool)
  • Karim Benzema (Real Madrid)
  • João Cancelo (Manchester City)
  • Casemiro (Real Madrid)
  • Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid)
  • Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City)
  • Luis Díaz (Porto, Liverpool)
  • Fabinho (Liverpool)
  • Phil Foden (Manchester City)
  • Erling Haaland (Borussia Dortmund)
  • Sébastien Haller (Ajax)
  • Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur)
  • Joshua Kimmich (Bayern Munich)
  • Rafael Leão (Milan)
  • Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich)
  • Riyad Mahrez (Manchester City)
  • Mike Maignan (Milan)
  • Sadio Mané (Liverpool)
  • Kylian Mbappé (Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Luka Modrić (Real Madrid)
  • Christopher Nkunku (RB Leipzig)
  • Darwin Núñez (Benfica)
  • Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus, Manchester United)
  • Antonio Rüdiger (Chelsea)
  • Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)
  • Bernardo Silva (Manchester City)
  • Son Heung-min (Tottenham Hotspur)
  • Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool)
  • Vinícius Júnior (Real Madrid)
  • Dušan Vlahović (Fiorentina, Juventus)

Who are the favourites?

  • Karim Benzema – 1/20
  • Sadio Mane – 12/1
  • Mohamed Salah – 14/1
  • Kylian Mbappe – 20/1
  • Kevin de Bruyne – 25/1
  • Robert Lewandowski – 30/1

Who is nominated for the women’s award?

  • Selma Bacha (Lyon)
  • Aitana Bonmatí (Barcelona)
  • Millie Bright (Chelsea)
  • Lucy Bronze (Manchester City)
  • Kadidiatou Diani (Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Christiane Endler (Lyon)
  • Ada Hegerberg (Lyon)
  • Sam Kerr (Chelsea)
  • Marie-Antoinette Katoto (Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Catarina Macario (Lyon)
  • Beth Mead (Arsenal)
  • Vivianne Miedema (Arsenal)
  • Alex Morgan (Orlando Pride, San Diego Wave)
  • Lena Oberdorf (Wolfsburg)
  • Asisat Oshoala (Barcelona)
  • Alexandra Popp (Wolfsburg)
  • Alexia Putellas (Barcelona)
  • Wendie Renard (Lyon)
  • Trinity Rodman (Washington Spirit)
  • Fridolina Rolfo (Barcelona)

Who is nominated for the Kopa Trophy?

Ten players have been nominated for the best-performing player under the age of 21:

  • Karim Adeyemi (Red Bull Salzburg)
  • Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund)
  • Eduardo Camavinga (Rennais, Real Madrid)
  • Gavi (Barcelona)
  • Ryan Gravenberch (Ajax)
  • Joško Gvardiol (RB Leipzig)
  • Nuno Mendes (Sporting CP, Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Jamal Musiala (Bayern Munich)
  • Bukayo Saka (Arsenal)
  • Florian Wirtz (Bayer Leverkusen)

Who is nominated for the Yashin Trophy?

Ten players have been nominated for the prize of best goalkeeper:

  • Alisson (Liverpool)
  • Yassine Bounou (Sevilla)
  • Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid)
  • Ederson (Manchester City)
  • Hugo Lloris (Tottenham Hotspur)
  • Mike Maignan (Milan)
  • Édouard Mendy (Chelsea)
  • Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich)
  • Jan Oblak (Atlético Madrid)
  • Kevin Trapp (Eintracht Frankfurt)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *