Ballon d’Or 2022: Robert Lewandowski wins Muller Trophy

Robert Lewandowski

Robert Lewandowski has won the Muller Trophy, recognising the best striker in the world throughout the 2021/22 campaign.

Former called the ‘Striker of the Year’ award, France Football renamed it to honour legendary German marksman Gerd Muller who passed away in August 2021.

Lewa has won the gong for a second straight year – retaining the prize that was seemingly created solely to appease the player after being snubbed for the 2021 Ballon d’Or award – after another stunning season in front of goal.

In 2021/22, the Polish striker scored a remarkable 50 goals in just 46 appearances in all competitions for Bayern, earning himself his second consecutive European Golden Shoe and breaking the record for most goals by a foreign player in the Bundesliga.

The striker has since made the move to Barcelona over the summer and has continued to score goals at a stunning rate. Lewa has already bagged 14 goals in 13 games for his new club.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *