Mohamed Salah and Sam Kerr win FWA Footballer of the Year awards for 2021/22 season

salah and kerr

Liverpool striker Mohamed Salah won his second FWA Footballer of the Year award after receiving the 2021/22 award, while Chelsea striker Sam Kerr received the first Women Footballer of the Year award open to vote.

FWA awards are often voted for by professional football journalists and while the men’s prize was determined in this way since the inception of the gong in 1947, the women’s prize was determined by a select committee for this season.

Mohamed Salah won the men’s prize in the 2021/22 season with 48% of the vote, with Manchester City’s Kevin De Bruyne in second place and West Ham’s Declan Rice in third place. The Egyptian athlete has already won the award in 2018.

Kerr came home with 40% of the votes in the women’s prize, ranked ahead of Arsenal’s Vivianne Miedma in second place and Manchester City’s third-placed Lauren Hemp.

“Both Mo and Sam have been outstanding this season, breaking team and national records. As well as the way they play on the field, they are the best leaders and managers in their teams and teams, “said FWA chairman Carrie Brown.

“The fact that they won so impressively underscores how impressive they have been this season that our members have noticed.”

Source: Onefootball

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *