UEFA Champions League round of 16 draw time,date and rules : Who could group stage winners face?

Champions League round of 16 draw

The group stage of the UEFA Champions League is almost over. Fifteen of the 16 sides in the final round are known, with Atalanta and Villarreal postponed to decide which final team will advance to the group stage.

Now fans of the top European teams and top-class football alike are all thinking of one thing – the selection of the 16th round of the Champions League.

The draw for the last 16 of the UEFA Champions League will be on Monday, December 13. The draw will be in Nyon, Switzerland, and will start at 12:00 noon CET. That means it will start at 11:00 GMT, which is 06:00 ET, and 03:00 PT in the United States.

Teams that have entered the Last 16 of the Champions League are Real Madrid, Atletico Madrid, Manchester City, Liverpool, Ajax, Bayern Munich, Manchester United, Lille, Juventus, Paris Saint-Germain, Sporting CP, Inter, Benfica, RB Salzburg, and Chelsea. Either Villarreal or Atalanta will improve again after their game on Thursday.

The teams are divided into two pots – winners and runners-up – and runners-up runners-up runners-up.

Teams cannot face teams from the same country in the Last 16, nor can they play against teams that have shared a group with them. Real Madrid cannot face Atletico or Inter, while Atletico cannot face Liverpool.

First pot: Ajax, Bayern, Liverpool, Man City, Man United, Real Madrid, Juventus, Lille.

Second pot: PSG, Sporting, Atletico, Inter, Chelsea, Villarreal / Atalanta, Benfica, Salzburg.

The first leg of the last 16 of the Champions League will be played on February 15, 16, 22, and 23. The second leg will be on March 8, 9, 15, and 16.

Goals away will no longer be used as shortcuts in the Champions League this season. In the event of an aggregate after 180 minutes, the games will go into overtime and penalties.

Leave a Reply